Staff and Leadership

Rev. L. John Gable, Senior Pastor

john.gable@tabpres.org

I have been pastor at Tab since November, 2007, and feel very blessed to be here.

My wife, Kristin, and I met at Hanover College so while not being native Hoosiers we feel right at home here. We have two children and two grandchildren.  Timm and Jane and Beau live in Milwaukee, WI.  Jenny and Aaron and Charlie live in Lansing, MI.

I grew up in St. Louis and after graduating from Hanover went to Princeton Theological Seminary. I have served Presbyterian churches in Mansfield, Ohio; Waterloo, Iowa; and Mequon (suburban Milwaukee), Wisconsin, prior to being called to Tab.

I love just spending time with Kristin, and our kids, particularly Charlie, whenever we can. I enjoy traveling and reading, as well as golf in the summer and badminton in the winter.

In a word, I am “grateful” for the gifts and opportunities which God has given me and believe I have been “blessed to be a blessing.” I am grateful to serve as pastor of Tabernacle Presbyterian Church and am inspired and encouraged by the many ministries we are a part of in this community and around the globe.

If we haven’t yet met I hope you’ll join us in worship soon.

 

Rev. Oscar Clavel, Associate Pastor

oscar.clavel@tabpres.org

Oscar Clavel is from Louisville, Kentucky. He is a 2007 graduate of Princeton Theological Seminary, Princeton, New Jersey, and a 2003 graduate of Southwestern Assemblies of God University, Waxahachie, Texas. He also received certification in Clinical Pastoral Education at Norton and Kosair Children’s Hospital in Louisville in 2006.

“I’m deeply committed to living out of a place of grace and encouraging others to discover their God-given gifts and passions. Thankfully, Tab is a great place for this kind of exploration. When not working, I enjoy cycling, running and extreme fitness classes. As an aside, I think I would enjoy gardening but I don’t have a backyard so I’m not sure!”

 

Staff, (317) 923-5458

WORSHIP, MUSIC AND ARTS

Matt Kauffman, Director of Music Ministries, ext 102, matt.kauffman@tabpres.org
Leah Crane, Contemporary Service Music Director, leah.crane@tabpres.org

CHILDREN’S MINISTRIES

Jennifer Wirt, Director of Children’s Ministries, ext 140, jennifer.wirt@tabpres.org

YOUTH MINISTRIES

Amy Rexroth, Director of Youth Ministries, ext 172, amy.rexroth@tabpres.org
Dan Rexroth, Director of Youth Ministries, ext 172, dan.rexroth@tabpres.org

COMMUNITY AND GLOBAL MISSIONS

Paula Means, Missions Director ext 130, paula.means@tabpres.org

RECREATION MINISTRIES

Ben Hughes, Recreation Director, ext 120, ben.hughes@tabpres.org
Steve Summerville, Program Manager, steve.summerville@tabpres.org
Nigel Foreman, Recreation Chaplain, nigel.foreman@tabpres.org

MEDIA MINISTRIES

Dave Streit, Director of Media Ministries, ext 170, dave.streit@tabpres.org

LAY MINISTRIES AND VOLUNTEERS

Paula Daum, Coordinator of Lay Ministries, ext 104, paula.daum@tabpres.org

FACILITIES

Chris Fedor, Facilities Manager, ext 180, chris.fedor@tabpres.org
Jeff Ellis, Head Custodian, ext 106, jeff.ellis@tabpres.org
Sean O’Banyel, Custodian

ADMINISTRATION

Rod Iberg, Director of Operations, rod.iberg@tabpres.org
Kristine Green, Bookkeeper, ext 111, kristine.green@tabpres.org
Kristine Seals, Executive Assistant, ext 103, kristine.seals@tabpres.org

KITCHEN

Rodney Bebley, Kitchen Manager, ext 162, rodney.bebley@tabpres.org
Tyrone Drake, Kitchen Assistant

SEMINARY INTERN

Eric Kropp, ext 210, eric.kropp@tabpres.org

 

Lay Leadership

The ministers of Tabernacle Presbyterian Church are the members themselves.  The governing board is called The Session.  Deacons, an office found in scripture, act as the hands of Christ on earth to serve God, Tab members and the community.  The Endowment Trustees oversee Tab’s Endowment Fund.

THE SESSION

Outreach

Missions: Patty Reel, Merv Yoder
Recreation: Chad Lynn, Jim Babcock

Discipleship

Adult Ministries: Jeanne Morton
Children’s Ministries: Mary Mills
Youth: Julie Kukolla

Worship

Congregational Life: Cindy Verbarg
Media: Fritz Blum
Worship, Music and Arts: Drew Childs

Administration

Budget and Finance: Charlton Browning, Jay Steger
Facilities: Mike Cracraft, Lucy Emison, Kate Ems
Human Resources: Lezlie Laxton

 

Other Session Areas

Clerk: Sharon Marshall
Treasurer: Dave King
Endowment Representative: Jay Steger
TCSI Representative: Kate Ems

 

THE BOARD OF DEACONS

Beth Ahearn, Moderator

Suzie Booker, Vice Moderator

Becky Mayo, Secretary

Mary Dougherty, Treasurer

Blake Morton

Carolyn Queisser

Honi-Jean Schroeder

Rob Springer

Brian Verbarg

Suzie Booker

Sara Butler

Steve Frazer

Jacquie Green

Bill McGuire

Amanda Moudy

Adam Packer

Julie Scott

Doris Shafer

Carter Booker

Jean Davis

Chris Erotas

Lisa Evans

Nancy Gordon

Rick Reel

 

ENDOWMENT FUND TRUSTEES

Andrew Costlow

Cathleen Perry

Richard Scales

Don Fledderjohn

Lee Lange

Steve Weyerter

George Davis

Bruce McDonald

Bob Shaw

 

OTHER RELATED AREAS

Presbytery Commissioners: Hoagy Elliott, Connie Hintz, Mike O’Banyel, Jim Pfeiffer, Ann Reynolds (alts: Lucy Emison, Linda McCabe)

TCSI Board: Don Fledderjohn–President, Mark Lubbers–Treasurer, John Byers, Bob Donaldson, Kate Ems, Gale Wilkerson

Nominating Committee: Charlton Browning (Mod), Julie Kukolla (VM), Nancy Gordon (DR), Barb Babcock, Dan Hursh, Stephanie Lynn, Sara Noel, Linda McCabe, Jen Thomas

Worship Communion Coordinator: Dan Schroeder

Home Communion Coordinator: Rob Springer

WWV Presbytery: Sharon Marshall–Session Records Review